Molecular Biophysics Unit
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
Instrumentation Contact
Instrumentation Sitemap


The Molecular Biophysics Unit (MBU) at the Indian Institute of Science was founded in 1971 by Prof. G. N. Ramachandran. The Unit is currently engaged in frontline research in contemporary Molecular Biophysics and Structural Biology.

The research activities in the Unit focus on the structure, conformation and interactions of biomolecules, with the main objective of explaining biological activity in molecular terms.

The unit has grown over a quarter of century, during this period, more than 200 young scientists have obtained their Ph.D. degrees and the number of research publications exceeds 1000. Seven faculty members have received prestigious S. S. Bhatnagar prize; eight members are fellows of the Indian Academy of Sciences and seven members are fellows of the Indian National Science Academy


» Protein folding and dynamics » Lectins and lectin-carbohydrate interaction
» Peptide synthesis and design   X-ray crystallography of proteins and viruses
» Computer modelling and dynamics of biological molecules » Theoretical studies on the conformation of peptides and proteins
» Conformational analysis of nucleic acids » DNA-protein interactions
» Unusual DNA structures and control of transcription » Ionophores and drugs and their interaction with membranes
» Genome organization » Synthetic protein design and protein engineering
» Ionic channels and electrophysiology » Membrane channel forming peptides


Selected Candidates for Admission 2022-2023

List 3 of Selected Candidates For 2nd round Interview 2022-2023

List 2 of Selected Candidates For 2nd round Interview 2022-2023

List 1 of Selected Candidates For 2nd round Interview 2022-2023

Prof. G N Ramachandran Birth Centenary Celebrations

Integrative Modelling in Biophysics: Informal Seminar Series

MBU In-House Symposium-2021 Flyer

MBU In-House Symposium-2021 Schedule

MBU In-House Symposium Abstract Booklet_2021

Apply for Raman Post-Docs


Recent MBU Group Photo (click here!)

MBU Wednesday seminar series (2021 - 2022) schedule

MBU Seminar's Reservation

Search MBU Site



Prof. P. Balaram

Prof. Saraswathi Vishveshwara

Van Der Waals sphsere in Pentraxin

Prof. M. Vijayan

Prof. N. Srinivasan

Prof. S. K. Sikdar

Prof. Manju Bansal

Prof. K. Suguna

Prof. M. R. N. Murthy

Prof. Dipankar Chatterji

Click on images to visit respective labs.
Drag slider for more highlights.


© Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India Design: Surfzone Technologies